Tina's School of Dance, site logo.

Exams and Medal Awards

This page will give you a basic understanding of the exam and medal awards. 
Exams and medals are held every year, exams are normally in June/July and medals are normally in Oct/Nov.
It is not essential for students to take part, however they are highly recommended.
Further information is given in the terms and conditions.
Pupils can take grade exams in ballet, tap, modern, acrobatics and drama.  They are very important in giving the pupils something to work towards and also a sense of achievement.  The grades are a perfect guide through the technique in each subject.
In ballet there are eight grades in the junior syllabus, and four in the senior work, pre-elementary, elementary, intermediate and advanced.
Tap has eight grades in the junior syllabus, and three in the senior work, elementary, intermediate and advanced.
Both modern and acrobatics have seven grades in the junior syllabus, and three in the senior work, elementary, intermediate and advanced.
Drama has five junior grades and three senior grades, elementary, intermediate and advanced.
Exams are taken with an external examiner from the U.K.D.D.F. Results are received in the post after approximately three weeks. 
Medal Awards
These awards give each pupil the chance to perform in front of an audience and show off their talent.  They are invaluable at increasing confidence, stage presence and self awareness. Many nervous children have been seen wanting to have a second go as they have enjoyed the experience so much. The pupils wear costumes and make-up when taking medals
Medals can be taken in all subjects.  They are as follows: 
Primary - This is marked individually but a few children are seen at one time, they are also allowed to be helped by the teacher.
Bronze group - A gentle progression, the pupils are not allowed any help, however they dance as a group and are marked as a group not individually.
1st Standard section
2nd Standard section
3rd Standard section
1st Shield
2nd Shield
3rd Shield
4th Standard section
1st cup
2nd cup
3rd cup
5th Standard Section
Final Trophy
For the first four levels only one dance is shown, the final trophy has four dances. This applies to all subjects apart from disco.
In the first standard - one dance
Second standard - two dances
Third standard - three dances